THE SYRO- MALANKARA CATHOLIC CHURCH MAJOR ARCHIEPISCOPAL CURIA CATHOLICATE CENTRE, TRIVANDRUM - 695004, KERALA, INDIA

Extraordinary Holy Episcopal Synod (11 December 2009)

REPORT

Upon receiving the assent of the Most Holy Father Pope Benedict XVI to the list of Episcopal Candidates sent to the Holy See, His Beatitude Moran Mor Baselios Cleemis Catholicos convoked an Extraordinary Holy Episcopal Synod of the Syro-Malankara Catholic Church at the Pastoral Orientation Centre, Palarivattom, Ernakulam on 11 December 2009. The invitation to the Holy Episcopal Synod of Episcopal Election was sent out to all members of the Synod.

All the members of the Holy Episcopal Synod, - His Beatitude Moran Mor Baselios Cleemis Catholicos (President of the Synod), Most Rev. Thomas Mar Koorilos (Secretary of the Synod), Most Rev. Geevarghese Mar Divannasios, Most Rev. Yoohanon Mar Chrysostom, Most Rev. Joshua Mar Ignathios, Most Rev. Abraham Mar Julios, Most Rev. Geevarghese Mar Timotheos, Most Rev. Joseph Mar Thomas and Most Rev. Jacob Mar Barnabas – were present.

The Holy Episcopal Synod (HES) began its session at 7 p.m. on 11 December 2009. Most Rev. Thomas Mar Koorilos, the Secretary of the Holy Episcopal Synod recorded the minutes of the Synod.

The Synod unanimously consented to the proposal of holding the Synod at POC, as the matter was urgent as most of the members were present at the POC for the KCBC meeting.

His Beatitude Moran Mor Baselios Cleemis, the Father and Head of the Church and the President of the HES after verifying the canonical requirements of the Holy Episcopal Synod of Election as per CCEO c 183 §1, declared the Synod open.

The Synod elected Most Rev. Jacob Mar Barnabas as the Teller.

The HES decided to erect the Eparchy of Pathanamthitta, bifurcating the Major Archieparchy of Trivandrum and the Eparchy of Puthur, bifurcating the Eparchy of Bathery.

The HES elected Most Rev. Yoohanon Mar Chrysostom, Most Rev. Geevarghese Mar Divannasios and Most Rev. Joseph Mar Thomas as the new bishops of the eparchies of Pathanamthitta, Puttur and Bathery respectively.

The Holy Episcopal Synod elected Rev. Dr. K.M. Vincent, Rt. Rev. Msgr. Samuel Kattukallil, Rev. Dr. Stephen Thottathil, Rev. Dr. Antony Valiyavilayil OIC from the list of Episcopal Candidate approved by His Holiness Pope Benedict XIV to be appointed as Bishops in the Syro-Malankara Catholic Church.

The Synod of election then discussed other relevant matters. The HES requested His Beatitude, the Catholicos to fulfill other canonical formalities to make the announcement of the canonical provisions in Rome and in Trivandrum simultaneously. It was the wish of the Synod Fathers that the announcement of the various provisions be made on 1 January 2010, the feast day of St. Basil.

At 9.30 p.m. His Beatitude the Catholicos made the concluding remarks and thanked everyone for their quick response to the extraordinary meeting of the Holy Episcopal Synod and declared the Synod closed. The Holy Episcopal Synod ended with the final prayer and blessings of His Beatitude the Major Archbishop-Catholicos.

▼ Thomas Mar Koorilos

Secretary